FREE DELIVERY FOR BULGARIA within 1-2 days

For the modest fee of 2.90 lv., for our smaller items, and 4.90 lv. for the bulkier ones, we could gift wrap every item of your choice as a present. You can choose which products you want gift wrapped in the checkout, under the product image.

We have free delivery for the whole of Bulgaria. If you order until 4pm, your order will arrive on the next working day. If your order on Friday after 4pm and during the weekend, you can expect your order to arrive on Tuesday the following week.

Availability: Discontinued
Condition: New
Barcode: 9781529112306
Trade code: 45466
ISBN: 9781529112306

Robert Sapolsky | A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

34.90 лв.
  • Robert Sapolsky | A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

    In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

    “I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

    An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti — for man and beast alike.

    Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects — unique and compelling characters in their own right — and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.