For the modest fee of 2.90 lv., for our smaller items, and 4.90 lv. for the bulkier ones, we could gift wrap every item of your choice as a present. You can choose which products you want gift wrapped in the checkout, under the product image.

We have free delivery for the whole of Bulgaria. If you order until 4pm, your order will arrive on the next working day. If your order on Friday after 4pm and during the weekend, you can expect your order to arrive on Tuesday the following week.

Availability: Out of stock
Cover: Soft
Condition: New
Barcode: 9780393334203
Trade code: 50137
ISBN: 9780393334203

Ross W. Duffin | "How Equal Temperament Ruined Harmony"

44.90 лв.
  • And Why You Should Care
    Copyright: © 2007 by Ross Duffin

    What if Bach and Mozart heard richer, more dramatic chords than we hear in music today? What sonorities and moods have we lost in playing music in "equal temperament" - the equal division of the octave into twelve notes that has become our standard tuning method? 

    Ross W. Duffin presents an engaging and elegantly reasoned exposé of musical temperament and its impact on the way in which we experience music. A historical narrative, a music theory lesson, and, above all, an impassioned letter to musicians and listeners everywhere, 
    How Equal Temperament Ruined Harmony possesses the power to redefine the very nature of our interactions with music today.

    For nearly a century, equal temperament - the practice of dividing an octave into twelve equally proportioned half-steps - has held a virtual monopoly on the way in which instruments are tuned and played. In his new book, Duffin explains how we came to rely exclusively on equal temperament by charting the fascinating evolution of tuning through the ages. Along the way, he challenges the widely held belief that equal temperament is a perfect, “naturally selected” musical system, and proposes a radical reevaluation of how we play and hear music.

    • Language: English
    • Dimensions: 13 х 21 cm
    • Pages: 208
    • Cover: softcover
    • First published: 2007
    • This edition published: 2008